This is the "Philosophy" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
GeneralPhilosophy
Journals A - HJournals I - PJournals Q - ZPeer Reviewed?
Databases & IndexesTutorials

Admin Sign In 

Philosophy 

Research Guides for Philosophy
Last update: Jan 27th, 2010 URL: http://stedwards.libguides.com/philosophy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Philosophy            Print Page
  
 

Philosophy: Online and Print Reference

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks available online or in the library's reference section.

  • A ready reference to philosophy East and West - Bales, Eugene F., 1946-
    Call Number: REF B72 .B34 1987
  • Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy - Robert Audi
    Call Number: Online via Gale Virtual Reference Library
  • Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy - Robert Audi
    Call Number: Online via Credo Reference
    A dictionary of thinkers and ideas. Comprehensive entries on major philosophers as well as 50 entries on leading contemporary philosophers. Includes coverage of developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics, non-Western philosophy, and Continental philosophy.
  • Concise encyclopedia of Western philosophy and philosophers - Urmson, J. O.
    Call Number: REF B41 .U7
    A one-volume encyclopedia of Western thought, including analysis of ancient and modern philosophy.
  • Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online
    As the title suggests, this is an online but condensed version of the ten-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.
  • Dictionary of World Philosophy Online
    This reference provides an extensive resource with entries drawn from West Africa, Arabic, Chinese, Indian, Japanese, Jewish, Korean, Latin American, Maori and Native American philosophy. Entries include: abazimu, abortion, Advaita, afrocentricity, age of the world, artificial life, baskets of knowledge, bhakti body, chain of being, Chinese legalism, creation, cybernetics, darshana, death, love, madrash, memory, paradox, passion, truth, virtue, Zen and more.
  • Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy Online
    Also available through NetLibrary
    The Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy covers in depth and at length the most important authors and movements of this tradition. Fifty-eight chapters cover many of the key thinkers, from Kant, Hegel, and Sartre, to Derrida and Baudrillard. Its scope ranges from Classical Idealism through Existentialism, Phenomenology, and Psychoanalysis, to Structuralism and Post Structuralism.

  • Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics
    Call Number: REF BJ63 .E44 1998
    This more than 3,100-page encyclopedia includes 281 articles, nearly all on applied ethics, e.g., euthanasia, eugenics, sexual harassment, journalistic ethics, informed consent, and computer security. It also includes a few articles on theoretical ethics, e.g., consequentialism and deontology. Each article begins with an outline of its topics, a glossary of especially important terms, and a first paragraph summarizing the content of the article.
  • Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy Online - Edited by Donald J. Zeyl
    This work presents articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity. The articles present not only succinct historical accounts of their subject matter, but they introduce readers to issues of interpretation and debate in the contemporary scholarly study of the philosophy of the Classical period.
  • Encyclopedia of Empiricism Online - Edited by Don Garrett and Edward Barbanell
    This is the only encyclopedia devoted to Empiricism. It is a source of information on particular figures, topics, and doctrines, treating the topic as a 17th- and 18th-century movement as well as a broader tendency in philosophical thought.
  • Encyclopedia of ethics - Susan Neiburg Terkel, consulting editor ; R. Shannon Duval, editor
    Call Number: REF BJ63 .E46 1999
  • Encyclopedia of Ethics Online
    Containing a third more entries than the earlier two-volume edition (1992), this three-volume work covers moral philosophy as practiced primarily by Anglo-American philosophers but also discusses topics outside that tradition.
  • Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online
    The Encyclopedia is designed to cover the whole of philosophy as well as many of the points of contact between philosophy and other disciplines. It includes Eastern and Western philosophy; it deals with ancient, medieval, and modern philosophy; and, it discusses the theories of mathematicians, physicists, biologists, sociologists, psychologists, moral reformers, and religious thinkers where these have had an impact on philosophy. An international groups of more than 500 scholars contributed nearly 1,500 signed articles--about 900 of them on individual philosophers.

    The print version consists of eight volumes published in 1967 and a one volume supplement published in 1996.

  • Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment - Editor: Michel Delon ; Advisor to the English-language edition, Philip Stewart ; translation editor, Gwen Wells
    Call Number: REF B802 .E53 2001
  • Ethics - Revised edition
    Call Number: REF BJ63 .E54 2005
    The revised edition provides accessible entry points for those grappling with ethical issues and concerns. The 1,000-plus articles cover people, events, organizations, trends, and issues. Applied ethics is emphasized more than theoretical, with various viewpoints clearly and equally elaborated. Ready-reference information, such as definitions, dates, and a brief synopsis of the significance of the topic, is offered at the beginning of each article.
  • Key Concepts in the Philosophy of Education
    Call Number: REF LB15 .W54 1999
    Explains the essential concepts used in contemporary and modern philosophy of education. It also provides background on the classic educational philosophy texts of Rousseau, Plato and others. Readers will find coverage of seminal views on teaching, learning and indoctrination as well as such contemporary concepts as postmodernism, markets and school effectiveness.
  • Key ideas in human thought / edited by Kenneth McLeish.
    Call Number: REF B41 .K48 1993
    This encyclopedia covers philosophy, religion, art, music, literature, mathematics, linguistics, computer science, economics, anthropology, psychology and many other fields.
  • Oxford Companion to Philosophy Online and Print
    Call Number: REF B51 .O94 2005
    Including more than 2,200 alphabetically arranged entries from nearly 300 contributors, the work provides an encyclopedic view of philosophy's past and present, its ideas, disputes, and key figures, living and dead. Articles range in length from several sentence definitions to meaty topical and biographical essays of several pages.
  • Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy Online and Print
    Call Number: REF B41 .B53 1994
    At just over 400 pages, almost 3,000 entries cover Eastern and Western philosophy (with emphasis on the latter), all the main subdivisions of philosophy, terminology from other disciplines that is significant in philosophical discussion, and major historical figures.
  • Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Religion
    Call Number: REF BL51 .O94 2005
    Central topics include the existence and nature of the divine, humankind's relation to it, the nature of religion, and its place in human life. The one-volume Handbook is divided into two sections. The first, "Problems," covers the most frequently discussed topics, among them arguments for God's existence, the problem of evil, and religious epistemology. The second is called "Approaches" and contains four essays assessing the advantages and disadvantages of different methods of practicing philosophy of religion.
  • Philosophy of Education: an Encyclopedia
    Call Number: REF LB17 .P485 1996
    Covers philosophical points of view that have had the greatest influence on educational thinking, from ancient Greece to the present. Individual philosophers, topics within the field of philosophy (e.g., epistemology, existentialism), educators, and education reformers are included as well as ideas and thinkers influencing education from outside the realm of philosophy (e.g., social sciences, religion).
  • Political Philosophy: Theories, Thinkers, Concepts
    Call Number: REF JA71 .P6226 2001
    This work is organized into three sections. The first section has more than 40 articles on fundamental political philosophies, including Communism, Egalitarianism, Feminism, Pragmatism, and Rational Choice Theory. Section Two, with over 20 articles, provides critical biographical information on the essential philosophers like Aristotle, Burke, Hobbes, Machiavelli, Rousseau, and Wollstonecraft. In the third section, more than 30 articles conclude the volume's exploration of philosophical concepts and issues.
  • Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    Call Number: REF B51 .R68 1998
    A ten-volume work, the print version features over 2,000 original articles from over 1,300 leading international experts across the discipline of philosophy. The articles cover such topics as Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online
    The primary goal of the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy project is to produce an authoritative and comprehensive reference work that is kept up to date dynamically. A dynamic reference work is defined as follows: (1) published in a continuously revisable electronic medium, (2) offers a comprehensive set of entries on topics in a target discipline, (3) provides the authors of the entries with electronic access to the reference work’s central web server, so that they can remotely edit and update private copies of their entries and submit them for publication according to a regular update schedule and at any other time it becomes necessary to revise, (4) maintains quality by way of a distinguished Board of Editors. Peer reviewed.
  • World philosophy : essay-reviews of 225 major works
    Call Number: REF B29 .W68 1982
    This 5 volume set continues the work started in Masterpieces of World Philosophy in Summary Form, with many added basic philosophy. It draws connections between works of literature and the philosophical works they emerged from. Articles are in chronological order.
  • Writers and Philosophers: a Sourcebook of Philosophical Influences on Literature
    Call Number: REF PN49 .T447 1990
    One-page essays on 123 Western writers--selected for their prevalence in anthologies and college curricula--identify philosophers and philosophical movements that influenced the writers and their writings. The writers chosen are those whose works most commonly appear in high school and college literature anthologies. The text describes major philosophical influences reflected in their writings as well as references to philosophical works that are known to have played a part in their intellectual and aesthetic development. This volume is a source of philosophical influences in fiction, poetry, and drama.
 

Need help? Ask a librarian.

Need more help? Ask a librarian!

  • Visit the reference desk
  • Call  (512) 448-8474 
  • Email

Reference hours:

  • Mon -Thurs: 9am-9pm
  • Fri: 9am-5pm
  • Sat: 12pm-4pm
  • Sun: 1pm-9pm

      
     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait