Need help? Ask a librarian.
Need more help? Ask a librarian!
- Visit the reference desk
- Call (512) 448-8474
Reference hours:
- Mon -Thurs: 9am-9pm
- Fri: 9am-5pm
- Sat: 12pm-4pm
- Sun: 1pm-9pm
Global Trends
From the National Intelligence Council
Google Custom Search
Search the sites listed in this guide only through a Google Custom Search.
General
- Adherents.com National and world religion statistics
- Alternative Futures AD 2000-2025 by Walter C. Clemens Jr., Professor of political science at Boston University. Article in the October 2000 issue of the OECD Observer, published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
- BBC News (U. K.) Data by country, updated quarterly
- Brookings Institute A nonprofit organization devoted to independent research and innovative policy solutions, site includes some studies on global topics
- Center for Strategic Decision Research Papers from the annual CSDR forum, The International Workshop on Global Security
- ClassBrain.com General country information, updated annually
- Countries of the World Compilation of data from CIA World Factbook, UN Statistical Office, LC Country Studies and others
- Country Studies (U.S.) Each study offers a comprehensive description and analysis of the country or region's historical setting, geography, society, economy, political system, and foreign policy. By the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress as part of the Country
- Department for International Development, U.K. Government department that manages Britain’s aid to poor countries
- Department of State (U.S.) Current news and information by country and topic
- Federation of International Trade Associations Country Profiles and information portal
- Future Studio Full text scenarios and future studies
- Geography IQ Online world atlas packed with geographic, economic, political, historical and cultural information
- Global Scenarios 1998-2020 Shell Oil Scenario planning from a major oil company
- Index Mundi Compilation of data from CIA World Factbook, IMF and others. Useful historical statistical graphs for such things as inflation rate, commodity prices, etc.
- Mapping the Future of the Middle East (U.S.) A report prepared for the National Intelligence Council based on a workshop held on 16 May 2005
- Mapping the Global Future (U.S.) Report of the National Intelligence Council's 2020 Project
- Maps of the World Offers various useful maps covering the whole world, including political maps, travel maps and thematic maps.
- National Intelligence Council Supports the Director of National Intelligence have several links to sites within this site which need to become sub-links
- NationMaster.com (Australia) Central data source for graphically comparing nations sources such as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD
- NIC Conference Reports (U.S.) Report of conferences sponsored by the NIC from 1999 to 2005
- One World-Nations Online Online guide to cultures and nations around the world. Dedicated to art, culture, history, and the uniqueness of a nation and its people
- PBS Commanding Heights Series (U.S.) Economic development from 1910 to present by country or category - not updated beyond last entry
- Pew Global Attitudes Project Worldwide public opinion surveys from more than 175,000 interviews in more than 55 countries about their views on the state of the world. Includes reports, commentaries, datasets, and news
- RAND Corporation A nonprofit institution that works improve policy and decision making through research and analysis, site includes some studies on countries and global topics
- The Economist: Country Briefing (U.K.) Data by country, updated monthly
- The Globalist Explores key issues on the global agenda
- The Library of Congress Global Gateway (U.S.) Updated regularly, each country portal contains web sites for information by subject matter
- The World Bank Contains a searchable database of reports and studies on a variety of topics and countries
- The World Factbook (U.S.) Select by country, includes maps, country profiles, comparative data, updated at least monthly
- U.S. Census Bureau, International Data Base Contains demographic data, global population information, and county rankings for selected indicators
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics The United Nations Organization for Education, Science and Culture (UNESCO) Institute for Statistics, Data Center statistics in the fields of education, science and technology, culture and communication.
- United Nations Conference on Trade and Development An institution whose work aims to help shape current policy debates and thinking on development
- United Nations Statistics Division UN statistics division compiles and disseminates global statistical information
- UnitedNations.org Current news and background information
- USAID An independent government agency that receives overall foreign policy guidance from the Secretary of State to support long-term and equitable economic growth and advances
- World Info Zone Basic information on a number of countries, with links to interesting sites news and country profiles for countries, with special educational features on many
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait