This is the "Databases" page of the "Mathematics Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Mathematics Research Guide  Tags: math mathematics physics  

Your guide to mathematics research at the Scarborough-Phillips library
Last update: Nov 16th, 2009 URL: http://stedwards.libguides.com/math  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases            Print Page
  

MathSciNet

MathSciNet is a "... database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature....  MathSciNet contains over 2 million items and over 1 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s.... This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences."

Search tips*:

The "Anywhere" search is an easy and powerful keyword search.

To search an author's name, enter last name comma first initial asterisk. For example: Olive, J*

The wildcard character is the asterisk (*) and may be used in all fields except MR Number and Mathematics Subject Classifications fields.

Adjacency is assumed within a field. For example, the search text "invertible matrix" will match only those cases in which the two words occur consecutively. It will not match "invertible triangular matrix".

To search multiple terms which are not a phrase, link them with "AND." Boolean operators OR and NOT may also be used.

The search may be restricted to the singular [plural] search terms by using the exclamation mark (!) at the end of the singular [plural] word. For example, "matrix" will match both "matrix" and "matrices" while "matrix!" will match "matrix" but not "matrices".

*Most of these tips are taken directly from MathSciNet's extensive help pages.

      
     

    JSTOR

    JSTOR has full-text backfiles for scholarly journals in many disciplines. To limit your search to Math journals, click the Search tab, and "Limit by Discipline" in the middle of the screen. JSTOR does not include the most recent 3-5 years of each journal.

    • If you find a useful article, check out the links to articles that cite your article and to articles by the same authors; they may be related to your topic.
    • Once you open up an article, there will usually be links on the right to search JSTOR for other articles by the same authors. There are also often links to search Google Scholar for related articles. If you pursue Google Scholar, read the "Does St. Ed's have it?" tab to help you get access to articles without paying.
    • Look at the article’s bibliography for other sources, as well.
    • Your option to export the citation is email. (We don’t support the other programs.) Or copy & paste.
    • The “stable URL” to each article isn’t stable – it doesn’t have our proxy string and probably won’t work off campus. Get the full citation.
    • Get more JSTOR searching tips from JSTOR.  They have some really good tutorials, especially on general searching and advanced searching.
        
       

      ScienceDirect

      ScienceDirect includes over 1200 scholarly journals in the sciences and social sciences, mostly full-text. Click on the Search tab and limit by Subject to avoid the non-mathematics content.

      • If you find a useful article, check out the live links to cited articles in the bibliography or the “References” tab.
      • Also check out the “related articles” feature. The relationship is an algorithm based on the frequency and location of key terms that the articles have in common.
      • Use singular terms; ScienceDirect will automatically search the plural, too
      • Use an asterisk (*) to wildcard any number of characters in a search word
      • Use a question mark (?) to wildcard one character in a search word
      • If you register with ScienceDirect, you can set up search or citation alerts and save searches, among other features. (A citation alert is an e-mail notification that an article has been cited by a new article. Thus, it's a way of seeing what new research is citing works that you have found useful.)
          
         
        Description

          Loading content... please wait