General Science Journals
There are many, many science journals. Here are a few of the most used:
Weblinks
- Science Central
- Skeptical Inquirer
- Discover magazine
- Los Angeles Times
- Science Daily
- Scientific American
- Science News
- Particle Adventure
- American Association for the Advancement of Science
- Univ of Oregon Virtual Lab
- The Tech Web Museum
- PBS Science
- ABC News Science & Technology
- Lee Dye's Science Columns
- Cargo Cult Science
- Yahoo Science
Books
The following books are located in the Reference Collection. For more books on your topic search the Library Catalog.
- The history of science and technology : a browser's guide to the great discoveries, inventions, and the people who made them, from the dawn of time to today
Call Number: Q125 .B945 2004 - The nature of science : an A-Z guide to the laws and principles governing our universe
Call Number: Q121 .T74 2003 - The history of science in the United States : an encyclopedia
Call Number: Q127.U6 H57 2001 - Encyclopedia of ethics in science and technology
Call Number: Q175.35 .B37 2002 - Science in popular culture : a reference guide
Call Number: Q172.5.P65 V36 2002 - Science and its times : understanding the social significance of scientific discovery
Call Number: Q175.46 .S35 2000
Databases
Click here for a full list of St. Edward's science databases. Below are a few highlights.
- Academic Search Complete General database covering many academic disciplines, contains popular newspapers and magazines as well as scholarly journal articles.
- Academic OneFile Covers a variety of disciplines, contains both scholarly and non-scholarly articles.
- Science Direct
Scholarly journals from the social, behavioral, health, and life sciences, Over 1250 journals within the collection have full-text articles available from 1995 to the present. From Elsevier. - JSTOR
Full-text backfiles for scholarly journals in many disciplines. Does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each journal - Proquest Biology Journals
Full-text articles and citations on biological topics published in scholarly journals and popular magazines
Online Reference
AccessScience
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology online, with
articles, definitions, graphics, bibliographies, biographies, science
news and media. A great place to learn about a topic or look up a new
term.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of electronic reference books searchable by keyword. Relevant titles include: Encyclopedia of Science and Religion, Scientific Thought: in Context, Encyclopedia of Bioethics, Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change, Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics.
Credo Reference
An online reference library, providing access to the full text
of hundreds of titles. Excellent source for simple answers/definitions with some in-depth articles. Also includes images, sound files, animations, and videos.
Description
Loading content... please wait


